Roosevelt Custer Regional Council, founded in 1973, is dedicated to advancing the prosperity and well-being of the eight counties within North Dakota’s Region VIII. Our primary focus is on fostering rural innovation, promoting regional collaboration, nurturing leadership, bolstering tourism, and driving economic and community development in Southwest North Dakota. We actively engage with city and county governments, partnering with economic development professionals to offer resources for the advancement of economic, infrastructure, and initiatives in the region.


On September 18th, 1969, executive order No. 49 was made establishing eight economic regions in North Dakota.


View our great staff below.

Board of Directors

View our board of directors and members below.

Agendas and Minutes

View our meeting minutes and agendas below.


On September 18th, 1969, executive order No. 49 was made establishing eight economic regions in North Dakota. The goal of this was to improve economic conditions for state and local governments through regional grouping of counties. Region VIII was established under this order, including the counties of Adams, Billings, Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger, Slope, and Stark.


In 1973 the RCRC was established as we know it today. The board was to be made up of county commissioners and soil conservation representatives from each county.


Teran Doerr
Executive Director

Teran has an extensive background and knowledge in economic development. In her tenure she has implemented numerous business incentives and is apt in dealing with businesses and grants. Her experience and skillset offers a unique advantage to the region. She manages lending programs, JDA contracts, and overall future vision of Roosevelt Custer.

Shannon Ellig
Regional Program Coordinator

Shannon’s experience in federal programs is a huge asset. She is skilled in client relations and customer service. Shannon focuses on CDBG, local foods, and grant reporting. 

Jessica Buer
Program Assistant

Jessica has an extensive background in documentation experience. She is skilled in customer service and client communication. She will manage grant reporting, communication, and assist with lending operations.

Brooklyn Engelhart
Marketing Coordinator

Brooklyn has extensive knowledge of economic development, community development, and tourism. She is skilled in graphic design, public relations, and social media. Brooklyn builds key communication pieces to share the opportunities available through Roosevelt Custer with the region.

Board of Directors

Officers and Executive Committee
Josh Buchmann – Chairman
Troy Mosbrucker – Vice Chairman
Devan Laufer – Secretary
Anthony Larson – Treasurer
Vacant – Past Chairman


Steven Klym
Rory Farstveet
Lyn James
Greg Nordsven
Tom Marman
Dennis Rice
Robert Baer
Casey Fredericks

Ryan Jilek

Dean Baar

Andrew Sampsel

Stuart Nielsen

Robert Kleeman

Neal Messmer

Scott Ouradnik

Agendas and Minutes

August 10th, 2023, Executive Agenda and Minutes

July 6th, 2023, Agenda and Minutes

June 15th, 2023, Executive Agenda and Minutes
March 30th, 2023, Agenda and Minutes
January 19th, 2023, Annual Meeting Agenda and Minutes

Sign up for our enewsletter